iOS 7 – NN/g Say it Best

Posted on October 30, 2013

1


Since several classmates have written or considering writing a review on iOS7, I wanted to do one myself. Before doing so, however, I wanted to look around and see what was already out there and found a great article written by Raluca Budiu, a member of the Nielsen Norman Group, that really hits a lot of the topics I was going to cover.

http://www.nngroup.com/articles/ios-7/

Several sections really stuck out to me from personal use, both of which I think Apple needs to address in their next update. The first section “Button and Flat Design” mentions the buttons that look like slider, as shown below.

Mail settings

I have always hated these buttons on the account that they afford the incorrect action. They look like sliders which affords the user to slide from left to right or vice versa. I’ve seen a lot of people have trouble with these buttons because of this affordance; people touch their finger to the far left or right of the button (depending on the direction they want to swipe) and swipe over the button. Since the button is actually a button for pressing, not swiping, this action often results in the button not being pressed and the user trying multiple times to swipe the button. Sometime the button will be pressed using a swipe functionality, leading to even more confusion from the user because it will sometimes respond to swipe motion and sometimes not.

The other area I love Budiu discussing is the “Swipe Ambiguity”section of the blog. With the addition of the new Control Center, which can be brought up by swiping from the bottom of the screen, users (myself at least) will find themselves scrolling through content and start a swipe motion to far towards the bottom of the screen. This will cause the Control Center to pop up in the middle of your screen unintentionally.

This has happened to me on numerous occasions, and has left me scared to use a swiping motion anywhere near the bottom of my screen. I find myself compensating for this issue by making a higher volume of short swipes in the middle of my window, careful to avoid the bottom of the touchscreen.

Overall it is a great article so look it over if you get the chance.

